Hello, Cowshed. At last we meet.

First Advanced Open Water Course is on this weekend – Four of our divers from last weekend’s Open Water course have decided to continue their education (yay!!!) with us, and from what Tom (the other instructor) has told me, everyone wants to do the Canterbury wreck – yes.  Oh yes.  My obsession will rub off on most of my student divers if I have anything to say about it. 

When I was younger, my first desire to sink beneath the waves came from a Discovery Channel feature – some random ship had sunk off the coast of somewhere, and divers were exploring it.  That was it for me – I was going to learn to dive (when I was old enough), and I was going to go diving on wrecks. 

Tonight Lee and I are driving up to the Bay of Islands and staying in the Cowshed. The Cowshed is a place of legends; I’ve not been yet, but I can tell you one thing – if wreck diving is what got me into the water in the first place, it’s definitely the thing that keeps me going back.  The first experience I had on a wreck was a little houseboat purpose-sunk in a quarry for training, which I dived on my Advanced Open Water course.  It was completely stripped, very boring.  But still, I was fascinated.  I wanted more. 

 The HMNZS Canterbury has been in my dreams of late, and even though the weather is looking dismal, diving the wreck should be alright due to its sheltered position  in Deep Water Cove, which lies on the western end of the Cape Brett peninsula.  I’ll let you know how it goes after the weekend.

-Diverkat

Leave a Reply

